For now… Not forever.

(sometimes, this is what it feels like when searching for that elusive career!)

I have, ahem, occasionally (geez, I wish you could hear me snort when I say that) wondered what I will do when I grow up. I am in an exceedingly privileged  position of having been able to pick what I want to do with my life. Isn’t that amazing? How lucky am I? Instead of feeling lucky though, here are the things that have run through my head at one time or another:

+ I can’t muck this up, I have only one chance to pick something

+ Guilt. Endless guilt about not being brilliant and taking so long to do something (anything)

+ Paralyzed by anxiety/fear of failure – when you’ve got every ounce of potential, using it is terrifying!

So here I am, at 28 and still working out what is next. The spouse has wisdom. Sometimes he imparts it to me:

Stop thinking about it being the rest of your life.

Pick something that you want to do for the next little while.

If you don’t like it, you can move on to something else.

In other words: don’t make a mountain out of a molehill. Do one small task at a time. Break it down.

It’s how I sew. I do one small step at a time with an idea of what I am working towards, but just little bits and pieces. It makes me more efficient.

It’s how I study. It’s how I do a lot of things.

It’s how I changed a car battery by myself (for the first time ever). I kept my mantras in my own head and added an especially prepared for the task of “Don’t complete the circuit. Do not touch that terminal whatever you do”. I survived. I kept it together, one step at a time. And now my car goes!!!!!

So summary – Break your task down. Don’t think of a career move as being for the rest of your life – you know the statistics and the rhetoric that people are staying in their jobs for a shorter amount of time and changing careers more frequently… so embrace that. Pick something for the next little bit. Begin by putting one small foot in front of the other – you will get there… for as long as you choose!

(Cross the river… Yes, there are crocodiles in this water!)

One thought on “For now… Not forever.

Leave a Reply

