Road Trip!

Yamba. 3.5 hours away… Or if you are us – five hours. With extra stops….. 🙂

Yamba. I’ve always been curious about this little spot on the Eastern Coast that Brisbanites often holiday in. “Oh we’re just going down to Yamba for a few days.” “Lovely” is my common response. They nod. They nod for a reason – because it IS lovely.

They have a new derby team and my league went down for a demo bout. It was fun. After four days of non-stop illness in our house, it was lovely going to the beach and spending some non-sick time together. We took the boy because… well, we like him. He was the only kidlet this time, but seemed to get along okay. We didn’t do the after party as we all needed sleep desperately… We hung out. lots. It was good. Then it was time to come home, via:

 

Photos, si?

The blue pools in Angourie.

The love of street art continues. Did Banksy holiday in Yamba? Is Banksy a surfer on the backpacker trail????

Did you know Iluka has World Heritage Listed Rain forest??? I didn’t… I asked the boy to take a photo. He kept laughing. I had the wrong settings. Thank-you for trying, little man!

 

The two greatest loves of my life on a fairly deserted beach in the most delicious light I have seen in yonks. This was getting close to the middle of the day and the light was so soft….

My favourite of the weekend. After the days of vomiting, an ER visit and rest, seeing him up, happy and curious was a joy.

We then continued our drive home… 40km out of Yamba I received a phone call that I left my purse in Yamba, it was hanging out with the police there. We drove back, had lunch at the pub (MUST DO!!!!) and then set forth properly.

The Big Prawn has seen better days

The man that fathered my child. Swapping driving responsibilities just outside of Byron.

 

The weekend was good, went by too fast, of course. We are planning our next one for April and it will be just after my birthday. Excitement!

One thought on “Road Trip!

  1. i love your comments “well, we like him” and “the man that fathered my child”. we camped at Iluka once, lovely part of the world. looks like a wonderful time was had by all 🙂

Leave a Reply

